Lead Director Network

Leading boards in turbulent times for public companies

Most US public companies have appointed an independent, non-executive director to lead the independent board members. Whether called lead or presiding director or non-executive chair, these board leaders play a vital role in strengthening corporate governance. Even where the board has a CEO who is also the chair, the independent lead director is often called to step forward in moments of crisis, such as a hostile takeover attempt or an activist intervention.

The Lead Director Network (LDN) is a group of leading independent directors from America’s most successful companies who share a commitment to improving corporate performance and earning shareholder trust through more effective board leadership. LDN members gather several times each year to candidly and thoughtfully address critical issues confronting their boards and their companies. 

Our members include:

  • Alan Bennett – Lead Director, Fluor Corporation and TJX
  • Paul Bowers – Lead Director, Aflac
  • Marcela Donadio – Lead Director, Marathon Oil
  • David Dorman – Non-Executive Chair, CVS Health
  • Paulett Eberhart – Former Lead Director, Anadarko
  • Curt Espeland – Lead Director, Lincoln Electric
  • Donald Felsinger – Lead Director, Archer Daniels Midland and Northrop Grumman
  • Lawton Fitt – Non-Executive Chair, Progressive Insurance
  • Jim Fogarty – Non-Executive Chair, Assertio Therapeutics
  • Ann Fritz Hackett – Lead Director, Capital One Financial Corporation
  • Alexis Herman – Lead Director, Cummins 
  • Glenn Hubbard – Lead Director, MetLife
  • Johnny Johns – Lead Director, Genuine Parts Company
  • Edward Kangas – Non-Executive Chair, Deutsche Bank USA
  • Susan Kilsby – Non-Executive Chair, Fortune Brands Home & Security 
  • Mel Lagomasino – Lead Director, The Coca-Cola Company
  • Lou Lavigne – Lead Director, Zynga
  • Steve Leer – Lead Director, Norfolk Southern
  • General Les Lyles, USAF (Ret.) – Non-Executive Chair, KBR
  • Jay Morse – Lead Director, AES 
  • Oscar Munoz – Executive Chair, United Airlines
  • Bob Murley – Non-Executive Chair, Stericycle
  • Henry Nasella – Lead Director, PVH
  • Suzanne Nimocks – Lead Director, Owens Corning
  • Chuck Noski – Non-Executive Chair, Wells Fargo
  • Craig Omtvedt – Non-Executive Chair, Oshkosh Corporation
  • Pam Reeve – Independent Chair, American Tower
  • Pat Russo – Non-Executive Chair, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
  • Ted Samuels – Lead Director, Bristol-Myers Squib
  • Steve Specker – Lead Director, The Southern Company
  • Doug Steenland – Non-Executive Chair, AIG
  • Chris Thompson – Lead Director, Jacobs Engineering Group
  • Bill Van Faasen – Lead Trustee, Eversource