East Audit Committee Network

Enhancing audit committee leadership and influence

Audit committees play an extraordinarily important role in corporate governance. They are a critical player in establishing confidence and trust in capital markets by ensuring high-quality, reliable financial reporting. In addition, many audit committees are now charged with overseeing additional risks, including vitally important areas such as cybersecurity.

Chairing the audit committee of a large public company is difficult. There are no one-size-fits-all solutions. Success requires judgment, developed from personal experience and insight from others who have faced similar situations. 

Since 2010, the East Audit Committee Networks (EACN) has helped its members—the chairs of the audit committees at large public companies—succeed. Three times each year, EACN members gather for a confidential group discussion. The conversations sometimes feature world-class guests, but the members’ voices dominate, and the agendas are driven by the audit chairs.

Tapestry Networks orchestrates the network, building on 15 years of convening board leaders in meaningful conversations. Tapestry helps members prepare for meetings with insightful, original reading material that draws upon tailored research and pre-meeting interviews with members and other leading thinkers. The meetings are synthesized into post-meeting publications that can be shared with colleagues. Everything is done under a non-attribution agreement that ensures candor and protects personal and company confidentiality.

Our members include:

  • Bert Alfonso, Eastman Chemical Company
  • Sallie Bailey, L3Harris Technologies
  • Ann Torre Bates, United Natural Foods
  • Bob Bedingfield, GeoPark and SAIC 
  • Carl Berquist, Beacon Roofing Supply and Cracker Barrel
  • Mark Besca, Markel Group
  • Shawn Bort, UGI
  • Bill Cary, Ally Financial
  • Nick Chirekos, Peabody Energy
  • Mary Choksi, Omnicom Group
  • Mary Ann Cloyd, Fresh Del Monte Produce
  • Charles Dockendorff, Boston Scientific, Hologic, Inc. and Keysight Technologies, Inc.
  • Brian Ford, Clearway Energy
  • Marie Gallagher, Glatfelter
  • Art Garcia, ABM Industries
  • Tom Gayner, Graham Holdings
  • Karen Golz, Analog Devices
  • Mary Guilfoile, Interpublic Group
  • Kathy Hannan, Annaly Capital Management and Otis Elevator
  • Jan Hauser, Vonage
  • Brian Hudson, Erie Indemnity
  • Paul Joubert, Ares
  • Christie Kelly, Park Hotels and Resort
  • Lew Kramer, Las Vegas Sands Corporation
  • Simon Lorne, Teledyne Technologies
  • Barbara Loughran, Jacobs Solutions
  • Gracia Martore, WestRock
  • Nichelle Maynard-Elliot, Element Solutions
  • Jim Miller, AES
  • Maria Morris, S&P Global 
  • Carl Nelson, Worthington Industries
  • Diane Nordin, Principal Financial 
  • Regina Paolillo, Alight and Unisys
  • Debra Perry, Korn Ferry 
  • Bill Plummer, Global Payments and Waste Management   
  • JoAnn Reed, American Tower
  • Marcy Reed, Clean Harbors
  • Judy Schmeling, Constellation Brands
  • Wendy Schoppert, The Hershey Company 
  • Bert Scott, Becton, Dickinson and Company and Lowe's
  • Leslie Seidman, Janus Henderson 
  • Helen Shan, EPAM Systems
  • Bill Shaw, The Carlyle Group
  • Noel Spiegel, American Eagle Outfitters
  • Liz Tallett, Moderna
  • Ron Waters, Fortune Brands Home and Security
  • Greg Weaver, Verizon 
  • Sandra Wijnberg, ADP and Cognizant 
  • Gina Wilson, Charles River Labs
download factsheet about network