Caroline Dive

Deputy Director

CRUK Manchester Institute

After completing her PhD studies in Cambridge, Professor Caroline Dive moved to Aston University’s School of Pharmaceutical Sciences in Birmingham where she started her own group studying mechanisms of drug induced tumour cell death, before moving to The University of Manchester to continue this research. Caroline was awarded a Lister Institute of Preventative Medicine Research Fellowship before joining the CRUK Manchester Institute in 23. Currently she is the Director of the CRUK Manchester Institute Cancer Biomarker Centre, with research spanning tumour biology, biomarker discovery and preclinical pharmacology alongside regulated laboratories for biomarker assay validation and qualification within clinical trials to Good Clinical Practice standards supporting clinical decision-making.

Caroline was awarded the Pasteur-Weizmann/Servier International Prize in 212 for her Biomarker Research, the AstraZeneca Prize for Women in Pharmacology in 216 and was presented with the 219 Heine H. Hansen Lectureship Award by the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC). She is an elected Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences (215), Fellow of the British Pharmacological Society (212) and Fellow of the European Academy of Cancer Sciences (211). In 217, Caroline was awarded Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) for her services to cancer research. Most recently, she became an elected member of EMBO (22) and received the first inaugural Johann Anton Merck Award in recognition for exceptional contributions to the field of preclinical oncology. Caroline is the current EACR President (22 – 222).